Board of Directors

David S. Dury
Chairman of the Board

Mr. Dury joined the Intevac Board of Directors in July 2002.  Mr. Dury served as a co-founder of Mentor Capital Group, a venture capital firm from July 2000 until his retirement in 2009.  From 1996 to 2000, Mr. Dury served as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Aspect Development, a software development firm.  From 1983 to 1989, Mr. Dury served as Chief Financial Officer and then President for Priam, a disk drive company.  Mr. Dury also served as Chief Financial Officer of NetFrame Systems, Chief Operating Officer of Boole and Babbage, and held management positions at Intel Corporation.

Mr. Dury holds a BA in Psychology from Duke University and an MBA from Cornell University.

Chair of the Nominating and Governance Committee
Member of the Audit Committee

Nigel Hunton
President and Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Hunton, most recently served as President and Chief Executive Officer at Photon Control Inc., a fiber optics equipment manufacturing company, from May 2019 to July 2021. Prior to that, Mr. Hunton served as President and Chief Executive Officer at Ferrotec (USA) Corporation, an electronics component manufacturing company, from July 2017 to May 2019. From April 2017 to July 2017, Mr. Hunton served as Special Projects Manager at Ferrotec GmbH. Mr. Hunton served as Managing Director at Hunton Associates Ltd, a management consulting company, from January 2016 to July 2017. From 2012 to 2015, Mr. Hunton served as Chief Executive Officer of MBA Polymers, Inc., a recycling company. From 1985 to 2012, Mr. Hunton served in various management roles at the Edwards Group, a global vacuum technology company. Additionally, Mr. Hunton holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from UMIST, Manchester.

Kevin Barber

Mr. Barber was appointed as a director of Intevac in February 2018. From 2018 to February 2023, Mr. Barber served as Chief Executive Officer and on the board of directors of Ensurge Micropower ASA, a publicly traded Norwegian company and a manufacturer of solid state lithium batteries. Prior to joining Ensurge Micropower ASA, Mr. Barber served from 2011 until 2018 as the Senior Vice President and General Manager of the Mobile Division of Synaptics. From 2008 until 2010, Mr. Barber served as CEO and president of ACCO Semiconductor, Inc., a fabless semiconductor company serving the mobile communications market. From 2006 to 2008, Mr. Barber served as a consultant for PRTM Management Consultants Inc. From 2003 until 2006, Mr. Barber served as served in various roles at Skyworks Solutions including senior vice president and general manager, mobile platforms, and earlier, RF solutions, and senior vice president, operations. From 1997 to 2002, Mr. Barber served as senior vice president of operations for Conexant Systems. Mr. Barber holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from San Diego State University and a Master’s degree in Business Administration from Pepperdine University.

Chair of the Human Capital Committee
Member of the Audit Committee

Dotty Hayes

Dotty Hayes joined the Intevac Board of Directors in June 2019. Ms. Hayes is currently nonexecutive Chairman of the Board of Directors at First Tech Federal Credit Union, a cooperative financial institution, and brings expertise in internal audit and controllership with large global technology firms. Ms. Hayes currently serves on the board of directors and as chair of the audit committee of BigBear.ai Holdings, Inc., a software products and technology company that operationalizes artificial intelligence and machine learning at scale through its end-to-end data analytics platform. She currently also serves as a Strategic Advisor and SPAC board member for GigCapital Global, a serial SPAC issuer, and served as chair of the audit committee for the SPACs GigCapital5 and GigInternational1 from February 2021 to December 2022. Ms. Hayes was a financial executive at Intuit from 2003 until 2008, where she served as Corporate Controller and Chief Accounting Officer and later as Chief Audit Executive. In 1999, after 10 years as a senior financial executive at Hewlett-Packard, she program-managed the spinoff of Agilent Technologies from H-P as Chief Audit Executive and continued at Agilent until 2003, serving as the company’s Vice President, Corporate Controller and Chief Accounting Officer. She came to H-P upon its 1989 acquisition of Apollo Computer, where she was Corporate Controller. She previously chaired the Audit Committee of the Vantagepoint Funds, a captive mutual fund series of ICMA-RC, and the Audit Committee for Range Fuels, a privately-held biofuels company.

Ms. Hayes holds an MS in Finance from Bentley University, and received both her MS in Business Administration and her BA from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Chair of the Audit Committee
Member of the Human Capital Committee

Michele Klein

Michele Klein joined the Intevac Board of Directors in June 2019. She is an experienced public company director, investor and CEO. In 2021 Ms. Klein was elected a director of Aviat Networks. (NASDAQ: AVNW), a provider of wireless transport solutions. In 2021 she was also appointed to the board of Rockley (NYSE: RKLY), a photonics chipset developer. Earlier she was a director of Photon Control (TSX: PHO), a provider of optical sensors and systems, from 2017 until its acquisition in 2021. Ms. Klein was Senior Director of Applied Ventures LLC, the venture capital arm of Applied Materials, from 2005 until 2010, recommending and managing investments in energy storage and solar energy, and representing Applied Materials on the boards of technology companies. Ms. Klein co-founded Boxer Cross Inc., a semiconductor equipment manufacturer, and was CEO and Director from 1997 until its acquisition by Applied Materials in 2003. She previously co-founded and led High Yield Technology Inc., a semiconductor metrology company, from 1986 until its acquisition by Pacific Scientific in 1996.
Ms. Klein earned an MBA from the Stanford Graduate School of Business and a BS from the University of Illinois.

Member of the Human Capital Committee
Member of the Nominating and Governance Committee